Chief Economic Minister: Mobility Outside Java, Bali Must Continue to be Restricted

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 30 Agustus 2021
Category: News
Read: 470 Views

Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto (Photo by: PR of Cabinet Secretariat)

Twenty regencies/cities in regions outside Java and Bali islands with public activity restrictions (PPKM) Level 4 have seen a flat and even increasing mobility trend based on the temporary assessment of PPKM implementation between 24 and 29 August.

Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto made the statement on Monday (30/08).

According to the Minister, mobility rate decreased by less than 10 percent in 11 regions, namely Dumai city, Medan city, Rokan Hulu regency, Pringsewu regency, Banggai regency, Banda Aceh city, South Lampung regency, Siak regency, East Luwu regency, Samarinda city, and Merangin regency.

“There are nine regencies/cities with an increasing [mobility] tendency, namely Bandar Lampung, Pekanbaru, Pematangsiantar because this is an agglomeration with Simalungun, then Jambi city, East Sumba, Kupang, Jayapura, Padang, and Palembang,” he said.

The Minister underscored that regions whose mobility rate decrease by less than 20 percent must continue to implement mobility restrictions, adding that based on the assessment, provinces with less than 20 percent of mobility decline that must continue to push it down include Aceh, South Sumatra, Lampung, Riau, Central Kalimantan, North Kalimantan, Gorontalo, North Sulawesi, Central Sulawesi, West Sulawesi, and Southeast Sulawesi.

Meanwhile, mobility restrictions in South Sulawesi have been carried out well and the current mobility rate must be maintained, he added.

“Provinces in Sulawesi island whose mobility must continue to be decreased are Gorontalo because it has seen a spike in cases; North Sulawesi; Central Sulawesi; West Sulawesi; [and] Southeast Sulawesi [as the mobility decreased] about [less than] 20 percent. It must continue to be pushed. South Sulawesi is quite good,” he said, adding that mobility rate in the provinces of East Nusa Tenggara, North Maluku, and Maluku must also be reduced.

The Minister also stressed that in regions outside the islands of Java and Bali, the provisions stated on Instruction of Minister of Home Affairs Number 36 on Coronavirus Disease 2019 Public Activity Restrictions Level 4 in the Regions of Sumatra, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Nusa Tenggara, and Papua are still in force.

Instruction of Minister of Home Affairs Number 37 on Implementation of Public Activity Restrictions Level 3, Level 2, and Level 1 and Optimization of Coronavirus Disease 2019 Handling Posts in Villages and Urban Villages to Control the Spread of Coronavirus Disease 2019 also remain in effect, he added.

“This is implemented from 24 August to 6 September,” he remarked. (FID/UN) (DH/EP)

Latest News