Education Ministry to Hold Online and Offline New Student Admission Program in 2020

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation
Date 29 Mei 2020
Category: News
Read: 155 Views

Infographics related to online learning. (Source: Ministry of Education and Culture)

Ministry of Education and Culture has announced it will implement online and offline New Student Admission Program (PPDB) in 2020.

For the mechanism, regional governments and schools can refer to Minister of Education and Culture Circular Number 4 of 2020 on Implementation of Education Policy in Emergency during COVID-19 Spread.

“PPDB is a go but we are pushing to make it online. If it cannot be done online, it can be done offline,” Regulation of Education and Culture Expert Staff to Ministry of Education and Culture Chatarina Muliana Girsang said in Jakarta, Thursday (28/5).

In addition, for schools to carry out offline PPDB, the schools must inform the registrants including the prospective students to follow health protocols. “The health protocols must be strictly implemented, they have to use facemasks, there must be a place to wash hands, hand sanitizer must be provided, disinfection must be carried out, and so on. Also, they must also keep their distance,” Chatarina explained.

In the Circular, it was also stated that PPDB for the Achievement Path can be carried out based on the accumulation of grades in the school report, determined based on the average accumulation of grades in the last five semesters, online final exam scores, and/or academic or nonacademic achievement scores.

The Ministry, according to the Acting Director-General for Early Childhood Education, Primary Education and Secondary Education Hamid Muhammad, will provide technical assistance to regions and schools for the online PPDB mechanism. “The services provided by the Ministry’s data center (Pusdatin) include data and application services,” he said.

For data services, Pusdatin provides preliminary PPDB data in the form of student data on early childhood education, 6th grade Primary School/Madrasah Ibtidaiyah, 9th grade Junior High School/Madrasah Tsanawiyah, and Extraordinary School (SLB) according to regency/municipality or provinces sourced from the Ministry of Education and Culture’s Education Basic Data (Dapodik) and the Ministry of Religious Affairs’ Education Management Information System.

The initial data provision was carried out through three services including Backbone network for regencies/municipalities or provinces that already signed an MoU; API/web service protocol (data upload service) for regencies/municipalities or provinces that have an online PPDB system; and download services for regencies/municipalities or provinces that have neither.

As for application services, Pusdatin provides online PPDB application services to regions that do not yet have an online PPDB system. It can only be provided for the implementation of PPDB in primary and junior high schools

The Pusdatin team will also provide online assistance to regional governments and schools on the use of the application services, which can be accessed at

As of 28 May 2020, Hamid said, there are eight provincial education offices that have issued technical guidelines of the 2020 PPDB for Senior High School/Vocational High School in accordance with Ministerial Regulation Number 44 of 2019, namely Aceh, Gorontalo, East Java, Central Kalimantan, Bangka-Belitung Islands, Maluku, West Nusa Tenggara, Central Sulawesi, South Sulawesi, South Sumatra, and North Sumatra.

Whereas for Primary level PPDB, there are 24 regency/municipal education offices that have issued technical guidelines including West Pesisir Regency, Bandar Lampung City, Morotai Islands Regency, Yapen Islands Regency, Mamuju Regency, Tojo Una-una Regency, Palu City, Kolaka Regency, Southeast Minahasa Regency, Musi Rawas Regency, Ogan Komering Ilir Regency, Serdang Bedagai Regency, Tangerang Regency, Mukomuko Regency, Gunung Kidul Regency, Gorontalo Regency, Pahuwato Regency, Batang Regency, Sukoharjo Regency, Gresik Regency, Banjar Regency, Murung Raya Regency, Lingga Regency and North Lampung Regency.

For junior high school level PPDB, there are 37 regency/municipal education offices that have issued the technical guidelines including Tabanan Regency, Serang Regency, Tangerang Regency, Mukomuko Regency, Cilegon City, Gunungkidul Regency, Yogyakarta City, Bone Bolango Regency, Gorontalo Regency, Tasikmalaya City, Tasikmalaya Regency, Batang Regency, Karanganyar Regency, Gresik Regency, Kediri Regency, Madiun Regency, Banjar Regency, South Barito Regency, Murung Raya Regency, Central Bangka Regency, Lingga Regency, Bandar Lampung Regency, Morotai Islands Regency, West Sumbawa Regency, Manggarai Regency, Jayapura City, Indragiri Ilir Regency, Rokan Hulu Regency, Palu City, Kolaka Regency, Southeast Minahasa Regency, Agam Regency, Musi Rawas Regency, Ogan Komering Ulu Regency, Asahan Regency and Deli Serdang Regency.

“At present, based on the results of the PPDB monitoring coordination meeting for high school level, as many as 19 provinces will carry out online and offline PPDB registrations, 14 other provinces will carry out PPDB online. While one province, Papua Province, has not yet reported,” Hamid explained.

Provinces that will implement online PPDB include Special Capital Region of Jakarta, West Java, Central Java, East Java, Special Region of Yogyakarta, West Sumatra, Riau, South Sumatra, West Kalimantan, South Sulawesi, Bali, West Nusa Tenggara, Bangka Belitung, and Riau Islands.

Meanwhile, provinces that will implement online and oflline PPDB  include Aceh, North Sumatra, Jambi, Lampung, Central Kalimantan, South Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, North Sulawesi, Central Sulawesi, Southeast Sulawesi, East Nusa Tenggara, Bengkulu, North Maluku, Banten, Gorontalo , West Papua, West Sulawesi and North Kalimantan. (Cooperation and Public Relations Bureau for Ministry of Education and Culture/EN)



Translated by: Fairuzzamani Inayatillah
Reviewed by: Mia M. Bonaedy

Latest News