Gov’t Announces National Holidays for 2024

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 12 September 2023
Category: News
Read: 400 Views

The Indonesian Government has announced national holidays and collective leave days for 2024.

The decision is stated in the Joint Ministerial Decree of Minister of Religious Affairs, Minister of Manpower, Minister of State Apparatus Empowerment and Bureaucratic Reforms Number 855 of 2023, Number 3 of 2023, and Number 4 of 2023 on the 2024 National Holidays and Collective Leave.

According to the decree, there are 17 days of national holidays and 10 days of collective leave.

The decree also states the work units/organizational units/institutions/companies whose function is to provide direct services to the people at the central and/or regional levels that cover the interests of the wider community, such as hospitals, community health centers, provider of telecommunications, electricity, water supply, drinking water supply, firefighter, security and safety, banking, transportation, and other similar work to regulate the assignment of workers on national holidays and collective leave in 2024.

“The joint ministerial decree begis to take effect from the date of promulgation,” it says.

The national holidays are as follows:

  1. 1 January (Monday): New Year 2024
  2. 8 February (Thursday): Isra Mi’raj (Ascension Day) of Prophet Muhammad.
  3. 10 February (Saturday) Chinese New Year 2575 Kongzili
  4. 11 March (Monday) the Holy Day of Silence, Saka New Year 1946
  5. 29 March (Friday) Good Friday
  6. 31 March (Sunday) Easter Day
  7. 10-11 April (Wednesday-Thursday) Eid Al-Fitr 1445 Hijri
  8. 1 May (Wednesday) International Labor Day
  9. 9 May (Thursday) Ascension of Jesus Christ
  10. 23 May (Thursday) Vesak Day 2568 BE
  11. 1 June (Saturday) Pancasila Day
  12. 17 June (Monday) Eid al-Adha 1445 Hijri
  13. 7 July (Sunday) Islamic New Year 1446 Hijri
  14. 17 August (Saturday): Independence Day of the Republic of Indonesia
  15. 16 September (Monday) Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
  16. 25 December (Wednesday) Christmas Day

The collective leave is as follows:

  1. 9 February (Friday) Chinese New Year 2575 Kongzili
  2. 12 March (Tuesday) the Holy Day of Silence, Saka New Year 1946
  3. 8, 9, 12, and 15 April (Monday, Tuesday, Friday, and Monday) Eid Al-Fitr 1445 Hijri
  4. 10 May (Friday) Ascension of Jesus Christ
  5. 24 May (Friday) Vesak Day
  6. 18 June (Tuesday) Eid al-Adha 1445 Hijri
  7. 26 December (Thursday) Christmas Day

(PR of Coordinating Ministry for Human Development and Culture/UN) (GWH/EP)

Latest News