Gov’t Extends Activity Restrictions in Several Regions

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 2 Agustus 2021
Category: News
Read: 273 Views

Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto

The Government has announced its decision to extend the level-4 activity restrictions (PPKM) to 9 August in several regions across the country, including 45 regencies/cities outside the islands of Java and Bali.

“The Government has extended the level-4 PPKM in several regions across the country, including 21 provinces and 45 regencies/cities outside the islands of Java and Bali,” Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto said on Monday (02/08).

In accordance with the Instruction of Minister of Home Affairs Number 28 of 2021 on the Implementation of Level-4 Activity Restrictions (PPKM) Amid COVID-19 Pandemic in theRegions of Sumatra, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Nusa Tenggara, Maluku, and Papua, the 45 Regencies/Cities are Medan (North Sumatra province); Padang (West Sumatra province); Pekanbaru (Riau province); Batam and Tanjung Pinang (Riau Islands province); Jambi (Jambi province); Palembang, Lubuklinggau, Musi Banyuasin, and Musi Rawas (South Sumatra province); West Bangka, Belitung, and East Belitung (Bangka Belitung Islands province); Bengkulu (Bengkulu province); Bandar Lampung (Lampung province), Pontianak (West Kalimantan province); Bulungan, Nunukan, and Tarakan (North Kalimantan province); Berau, Balikpapan, Bontang, Samarinda, West Kutai, Kutai Kartanegara, East Kutai, and North Penajam Paser (East Kalimantan province); Banjar Baru and Banjarmasin (South Kalimantan province), Mataram (West Nusa Tenggara province); Sikka, East Sumba, and Kupang (East Nusa Tenggara province); Bitung, Minahasa, and North Minahasa (North Sulawesi province); Makassar, and Tana Toraja (South Sulawesi province); Palu and North Morowali (Central Sulawesi province); West Halmahera (North Maluku province); Jayapura, Mimika, and Merauke (Papua province); and Sorong (West Papua province).

Airlangga, who also helms the Committee for COVID-19Handling and National Economic Recovery (KPCPEN),said that the level-4 PPKM previously implemented until 2 August had produced positive impacts in terms of daily cases, active case rate, recovery rate, and bed occupancy rate (BOR).

“The development of cases is still fluctuating but there have been some improvements in several indicators,” Airlangga said.

Airlangga further said that in accordance with the directives of President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo, the Government’s policy in handling the COVID-19 pandemic focuses on three main pillars. First, speeding up vaccination, especially in areas that becomethe centers of people mobility and economic activity. Second, massive application of health protocols in communities, and third, massive testing, tracing, and treatment measures. (PR of Cabinet Secretariat/RF/UN) (RI/LW)

Latest News