Gov’t Issues Regulation to Speed Up Development in Underdeveloped Regions

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 24 Desember 2021
Category: News
Read: 384 Views


President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo on December 10, 2021 signed Presidential Regulation (Perpres) Number 105 of 2021 on the National Strategy for Accelerating Development of Underdeveloped Regions for 2020-2024 period.

The Regulation, which can be accessed on the JDIH website of Cabinet Secretariat, is based on provision of Article 10 paragraph (1) of Government Regulation (PP) Number 78 of 2014 on Development of Disadvantaged Regions.

“The National Strategy for the Acceleration of Disadvantaged Regions Development, hereinafter abbreviated as Stranas-PPDT, is a development planning document for underdeveloped regions for a five-year period based on the national medium-term development plan,” Article 1 paragraph (1) of the Regulation states.

The Stranas-PPDT comprises: (1) PPDT issues, policies, and objectives; (2) PPDT strategy; (3) PPDT strategic activities; and (4) the strategy for developing underdeveloped regions.

“The Stranas-PPDT aims to encourage efforts to accelerate the development of underdeveloped regions in a detailed, well-targeted, systematic, and sustainable manner,” the Regulation states.

The Stranas-PPDT has four objectives. First, accelerating the reduction of disparities among regions and ensuring the realization of equity and justice in national development. Second, accelerating the fulfillment of basic needs and basic infrastructure for underdeveloped regions. Third, improving coordination, integration, and synchronization between the Central Government and Regional Governments in planning, funding and financing, implementation, control, and evaluation. Fourth, ensuring the implementation of PPDT policies.

The Regulation states that the Stranas-PPDT is carried out by the Minister who administers the Government affairs in the sector of development of disadvantaged areas (PDT), and Ministers/heads of Institutions, Governors, and Regents in accordance with their authority.

Monitoring and evaluation measures for Stranas-PPDT in the national and regional level is carried out by Regents, Governors, and Ministers in accordance with the provisions of laws and regulations. The monitoring and evaluation results shall be reported to the President.

“Based on the results of monitoring and evaluation, regions that have been unlisted from the list of underdeveloped regions would be under the guidance of the minister (who organizes the Government affairs in the sector of development of underdeveloped regions) for a maximum of three years after it is unlisted,” Article 6 paragraph (1) of the Regulation reads.

The following is a list of underdeveloped regions according to the Stranas-PPDT:

  1. Papua Region (30 Regencies)

West Papua Province

  1. Teluk Wondama Regency
  2. Teluk Bintuni Regency
  3. South Sorong Regency
  4. Sorong Regency
  5. Tambrauw Regency
  6. Maybrat Regency
  7. South Manokwari Regency
  8. Pegunungan Arfak Regency

Papua Province

  1. Jayawijaya Regency
  2. Nabire Regency
  3. Paniai Regency
  4. Puncak Jaya Regency
  5. Boven Digoel Regency
  6. Mappi Regency
  7. Asmat Regency
  8. Yahukimo Regency
  9. Pegunungan Bintang Regency
  10. Tolikara Regency
  11. Keerom Regency
  12. Waropen Regency
  13. Supiori Regency
  14. Mamberamo Raya Regency
  15. Nduga Regency
  16. Lanny Jaya Regency
  17. Central Mamberamo Regency
  18. Yalimo Regency
  19. Puncak Regency
  20. Dogiyai Regency
  21. Intan Jaya Regency
  22. Deiyai Regency


B. Maluku Region (8 Regencies)

Maluku Province

  1. Tanimbar Islands Regency
  2. Aru Islands Regency
  3. West Seram Regency
  4. East Seram Regency
  5. Southwest Maluku Regency
  6. South Buru Regency

North Maluku Province

  1. Sula Islands Regency
  2. Taliabu Island Regency


C. Nusa Tenggara Region (14 regencies)

West Nusa Tenggara Province

  1. North Lombok Regency

East Nusa Tenggara Province

  1. West Sumba Regency
  2. East Sumba Regency
  3. Kupang Regency
  4. South Central Timor Regency
  5. Belu Regency
  6. Alor Regency
  7. Lembata Regency
  8. Rote Ndao Regency
  9. Central Sumba Regency
  10. Southwest Sumba Regency
  11. East Manggarai Regency
  12. Sabu Raijua Regency
  13. Malaka Regency

D. Sulawesi Region (3 Regencies)

Central Sulawesi Province

  1. Donggala Regency
  2. Tojo Una-una Regency
  3. Sigi Regency

E. Sumatra Region (7 Regencies)

North Sumatra Province

  1. Nias Regency
  2. South Nias Regency
  3. North Nias Regency
  4. West Nias Regency

West Sumatra Province

  1. Mentawai Islands Regency

South Sumatra Province

  1. North Musi Rawas Regency

Lampung province

  1. Pesisir Barat Regency

The Presidential Regulation shall come into force as of the date of its promulgation. The Regulation was promulgated by Minister of Law and Human Rights Yasonna H. Laoly on December 10, 2021. (ST/UN) (RI/LW)

Latest News