Indonesia Elected to UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation
Date 19 Juni 2020
Category: News
Read: 492 Views

Indonesia was elected a member of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) for the 2021-2023 term at the election held at the United Nations Headquarters, New York, Wednesday (17/6) morning local time.

The election was held without a plenary session to prevent the spread of COVID-19. On the occasion, representatives from each Permanent Mission in New York were present to vote.

Indonesia received 186 votes out of a total of 190 votes. Besides Indonesia, Japan (185 votes) and Solomon Islands (187 votes) were also elected to represent the Asia-Pacific Group.

Meanwhile, Guatemala, Bolivia, Argentina and Mexico were elected to represent the Latin American and Caribbean groups; Bulgaria was elected to represent the Eastern European Group; Libya, Liberia, Nigeria, Madagascar and Zimbabwe were elected to represent the African Group, and, Austria, Germany, Portugal, Britain and France were elected to represent the Western and Other European Groups.

As a member of ECOSOC, Indonesia is committed to actively participating in encouraging efforts to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of 2030. Indonesia will also continually redouble its efforts to utilize its role in the discussion of strategic issues, especially in specialized agencies under the ECOSOC including the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), World Health Organization (WHO), International Maritime Organization (IMO), International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), and International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

The election of Indonesia to ECOSOC has important following significances: 1) the ECOSOC platform in encouraging economic and social recovery measures after the COVID-19 pandemic; 2) Indonesia’s global leadership in encouraging accelerated achievement of SDGs, and 3) Advancing national priority programs in line with SDGs while contributing to economic transformation, especially in the economic sector with high added value for the prosperity of the nation.

ECOSOC is one of the six United Nations principal organs, responsible for coordinating economic and social affairs, especially those related to the scope of work of 15 specialized agencies, eight functional commissions, and five regional commissions under its authority. ECOSOC consists of 54 member countries which are elected annually for overlapping 3-year terms of service.

This is the 12th time for Indonesia to become a member of ECOSOC after the last term of 2012-2014. Previously Indonesia held the position in the periods of 1956-1958; 1969-1971; 1974-1975; 1979-1981; 1984-1986; 1989-1991; 1994-1996; 1999-2001; 2004-2006; and 2007-2009.

During its long history of being a member of ECOSOC, Indonesia was twice elected to be the President of ECOSOC in 1970 and 2000. In addition, Indonesia was Vice President of ECOSOC in 1969, 1999 and 2012. (Ministry of Foreign Affairs/EN)



Translated by: Ridwan Ibadurrohman
Reviewed by: Mia Medyana

Latest News