It’s the House’s Authority to Select New KPK Leaders, President Jokowi Says

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 13 September 2019
Category: News
Read: 358 Views

It is the authority of the House of Representatives (DPR) to select five new leaders of the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) for the period of 2019-2023 who have passed the series of tests organized by the Selection Committee assigned by the Government, according to President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo.

“The new leaders have passed the tests from the Selection Committee. The procedures are set in the authority of the House,” President Jokowi said in a press conference on the Revision to KPK Law, at the State Palace, Jakarta, Friday (13/9).

Commission III of the House on Thursday (12/9) announced the selected five new KPK leaders, they are among others: 1. Firli Bahuri (Chairman); Alexander Marwata; 3. Nurul Ghufron; 4. Nawawi Pamolangi; and; 5. Lili Pintauli Siregar.

Also on that occasion, President Jokowi gave statement about the resignation of the current KPK Deputy Chairman Saut Situmorang and said that he has the right to resign.

President Jokowi also denied allegation that a number of KPK leaders have difficulty meeting the President.

“There are a lot of people who have met me, and it is not that difficult. I also have met with several prominent figures and discussed about the Revision to KPK Bill. You can schedule a meeting with me through Minister of State Secretary,” President Jokowi firmly said. (UN/ES)



Translated by : Rany Anjany Subachrum
Edited by : Mia Medyana Bonaedy

Latest News