President Jokowi Leads Kendi Nusantara Ritual at New Capital’s Ground Zero

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 14 Maret 2022
Category: News
Read: 972 Views

Ritual of combining water and soil from each province in Indonesia, at the ground zero of New Capital of Nusantara (IKN), Monday (03/14).

President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo, Monday (03/14), visited the ground zero of New Capital of Nusantara (IKN).

President Jokowi and 34 governors from all provinces in Indonesia began a traditional ritual of combining water and soil from each province in Indonesia.

“Today, March 14 2022, we are all here for our great purpose to commence the development of the New Capital of Nusantara (IKN). I am here with 34 governors from 34 provinces in Indonesia and 15 prominent figures of East Kalimantan province,” he said.

On that occasion, all governors handed over water and soil collected from their respective provinces to the President to be combined in one water vessel. Governor of Jakarta Anies Baswedan started the ritual first while Governor of East Kalimantan Isran Noor concluded it.

The President said that the ritual is a symbol of unity in diversity between all regions in Indonesia in the development of IKN.

“The collaborative works between the Central Government, regional governments, the Indonesian National Defense Forces (TNI), the Indonesian National Police (Polri), private sector, and the people in supporting the development of IKN will be great helps to materialize our goals as soon as possible,” he said.

He also expressed his appreciation to all national components including state institutions and all layers of society for their supports to the IKN.

After the ritual, President Jokowi and First Lady Ibu Iriana Jokowi planted red meranti and camphor trees, respectively, whereas regional heads planted trees originated from their regions.

Also attending the occasion were among others, Speaker of the People’s Consultative Assembly (MPR) Bambang Soesatyo, Cabinet Secretary Pramono Anung, Minister of Environment and Forestry Siti Nurbaya, Minister of State-Owned Enterprises Erick Thohir, Minister of Public Works and Public Housing Basuki Hadimuljono, Minister of Investment/Head of the Indonesia Investment Coordinating Board (BKPM) Bahlil Lahadalia, Chairperson of the IKN Authority Bambang Susantono, and the Vice Chairperson Dhony Rahajoe. (FID/UN) (RAS/MMB)

Latest News