President Jokowi Opens P20 Summit

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 6 Oktober 2022
Category: News
Read: 656 Views

President Jokowi Thursday (10/06) officially opens the 8th G20 Parliamentary Speakers’ Summit (P20), at Senayan, Jakarta.

President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo Thursday (10/06) officially opened the 8th G20 Parliamentary Speakers’ Summit (P20) at the Indonesia Parliament Complex in Jakarta.

In his remarks, President Jokowi urged P20 countries to break the silos and boost cooperation in facing global challenges and crises.

“We must work hard to settle differences, to promote and to strengthen common ground in order to to foster global economic recovery and overcome the crisis more effectively,” he said.

The Head of State also expressed belief that multilateralism is the most effective way to surmount common challenges.

Therefore, countries must be willing to sit down together to talk and build bridges of dialogue so they can find solutions to various problems, he said.

“Conflicts and discords actually make us all miserable. Everyone is affected. Everyone loses. Everyone is threatened. No one wins because everyone loses. Therefore, I’d like to invite global parliaments to be part of the solution, to act as bridges, to carry peace-keeping missions, to build dialogue and negotiations, to promote togetherness, and to avoid discord,” he said.

The President also pointed out that the P20 forum is the right place to build solidarity with the people and cross-country togetherness, to join hands to solve humanitarian problems, and to create a more prosperous world with justice.

“The G20 Parliament is a representation of the voice of the people, the global community. They are elected and trusted by the people. They capture and become the voice of the people, and at the same time, invite the people to work together in facing this incredibly tough challenge,” he said.

For the record, the P20 Summit was attended by the parliaments of Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, and the European Union.

Also present as invitees were the Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, the United Arab Emirates, Senegal (Chair of the African Union), Cambodia (Chair of ASEAN), Republic of Suriname (Chair of the CARICOM), Bahrain, Chair of the Pacific Islands Forum (PIF), Republic of Namibia, Norway, Thailand, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Colombia, and Ukraine. (TGH/UN) (FI/EP)

Latest News