President Jokowi Swears in KPK Commissioners

By Humas     Date 21 Desember 2015
Category: News
Read: 6.277 Views

President Jokowi congratulated newly elected KPK Commissioner Agus Rahardjo, who was accompanied by his wife and other KPK Commissioners at State Palace, Jakarta, on Monday (21/12)

President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo on Monday afternoon (21/12) at the State Palace swore in five newly elected commissioners of the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) for the period of 2015 – 2019.

The new Commissioners are Agus Rahardjo, Saut Situmorang, Laode Muhamad Syarif, Alexander Marwata, and Basaria Panjaitan.

The swear-in ceremony took place after the Presidential Decree Number 133/P of 2015 on the Appointment of Commissioners of the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) for the period of 2015-2019 was read.

The five KPK Commissioners were previously selected by Commission III of the House of Representatives of the Republic of Indonesia (DPR-RI) overseeing legal affairs on Thursday (17/12) and decided in a plenary session of DPR-RI on Friday (18/12).

Agus Rahardjo, one of the Commissioners, said that he is ready with all the risks of becoming KPK Commissioners, given the fact that former KPK Commissioners were criminalized.

“It is the risk of my position so I don’t have to be afraid,” Agus said.

Agus also said that the new KPK Commissioners need 1 or 2 weeks to perform data adjustment and to study facts related to a number of big cases that have not been settled yet.

After the ceremony, the newly KPK Commissioners had a meeting with President Jokowi. They also promised to give a press statement at the KPK office.

Also attending the ceremony were a number of ministers of the Working Cabinet, Chief of the Indonesian National Police (Kapolri), the Attorney General, Commander of the Indonesian National Defense Forces (TNI), former KPK Commissioners, as well as Head of KPK Selection Committee Destry Damayanti. (DND/RAH/ES) (Naster/EP/YM)

Latest News