“The People will Trust DPR,” President Joko Widodo Says

By Humas     Date 19 Januari 2016
Category: News
Read: 6.754 Views

Consultation meeting of the Government with government institutions at the State Palace, Jakarta (19/1)

President Joko Widodo accompanied by Vice President Jusuf Kalla and several Coordinating Ministers had a constultation meeting with the heads of government institutions, at the State Palace, Jakarta, on Tuesday (19/1) morning.

The consultation meeting was attended by the Speaker of People’s Consultative Assembly (MPR) Zulkifli Hasan who was accompanied by four deputy speakers; the Speaker of the House of Representatives (DPR) Ade Komarudin who was accompanied by the Deputy Speakers Fahri Hamzah and Agus Hermanto; the Speaker of Regional Representatives Council (DPD) Irman Gusman; the Head of Constitutional Court (MK) Arief Hidayat; the Chairman of Supreme Audit Council (BPK) Harry Azhar Azis; and Deputy Chief Justice for Non-Judicial Affairs of Supreme Court (MA) Suwardi.

In his introductory remarks, President Joko Widodo said that he is grateful because at the beginning of 2016, he can meet the leaders of government institutions. The President said that the purpose of this amicable gathering is to strengthen the common spirit, determination, and commitment to build Indonesia towards a better future.

On that occasion, in particular, President Joko Widodo congratulated Ade Komarudin for his inauguration as the new Speaker of DPR RI.

 “I am sure, under his leadership, the DPR will be a government institution that would be trusted by the people in carrying out their functions as the representative of the people that will deliver the people’s political aspiration,” the President said.

The President also mentioned the acts of terror at Jalan Thamrin, Jakarta. “Alhamdulillah, the security forces’ rapid response can tackle the terror quickly, a few hours only. The terrorists could be defeated by security forces. Not only us, but also international world appreciate our actions,” the President said.

The meeting was also attended by several ministers, such as, Coordinating Minister for Political, Legal, and Security Affairs Luhut B. Pandjaitan, Coordinating Minister for the Economy Darmin Nasution, Coordinating Minister for Human Development and Culture Puan Maharani, Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs and Resources Rizal Ramli, Minister of State Secretary Pratikno, Cabinet Secretary Pramono Anung, Minister of Law and Human Rights Yasonna Laoly, Minister of Finance Bambang Brodjonegoro, Minister of Defence Ryamizard Ryacudu, and Minister of Home Affairs Tjahjo Kumolo. (FID/GUN/SM/ES)(MMB/YM/Naster)

Latest News