Gov’t Extends Micro-Scale Restrictions to 3 May

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 19 April 2021
Category: News
Read: 237 Views

Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto, accompanied by Minister of Religious Affairs Yaqut Cholil Qoumas and Minister of Health Budi G. Sadikin, delivers a statement at a press conference, Monday (19/04), in Jakarta. (Photo by: PR/Agung)

The activity restrictions (PPKM) and micro-based activity restrictions (PPKM Mikro) policies that have been implemented since last January have been effective in controlling the spread of COVID-19, Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto has said.

“The activity restrictions implemented since January and February have started to control the spread of COVID-19,” the Minister said in a press conference after attending a Limited Cabinet Meeting at the Presidential Palace, Jakarta, Monday (19/04).

Airlangga, who is also the Chairperson of the Committee for Handling COVID-19 and National Economic Recovery (KPCPEN), said that the average monthly active cases continued to decline from 15.43 percent in January to 7.23 percent in April.

The number of weekly active cases has also continued to decline, from 176,291 cases/week in the 2nd week of February to 106,243 cases/week in the 3rd week of April.

Based on the evaluation, Airlangga added, the Government has decided to extend the the restrictions for two weeks, starting from 20 April to 3 May 2021.

“Based on the number of active cases, the micro-based restrictions will be implemented in five more provinces, namely West Sumatra, Jambi, Bangka Belitung Islands, Lampung and West Kalimantan,” he said.

With the addition of the five provinces, the micro-based restrictions will be implemented in 25 provinces, namely Jakarta, Banten, West Java, Yogyakarta, Central Java, East Java, Bali, North Sumatra, East Kalimantan, South Sulawesi, North Sulawesi, South Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, East Nusa Tenggara, West Nusa Tenggara, Aceh, Riau, South Sumatra, North Kalimantan, Papua, West Sumatra, Jambi, Bangka Belitung Islands, Lampung, and West Kalimantan.

As of 18 April 2021, the COVID-19 active cases rate was 6.6 percent, continuing to decline compared to that of February 2021 which reached 16.10 percent. Meanwhile, the daily national positivity rate was 11.21 percent, lower than that of 9 February which reached 29.42 percent.

“The national average of Bed Occupancy Rate (BOR) is approximately 35 percent and no province has a BOR above 60 percent,” Airlangga said. (FID/UN) (RI/MMB)

Latest News