President Joko Widodo Wants to Manage Airspace

By Humas     Date 10 September 2015
Category: News
Read: 6.006 Views
Konpers Menhub

Minister of Transportation Ignasius Jonan accompanied by Commander of TNI Gen. Gatot Nurmantyo and Cabinet Secretary Pramono Anung delivers press statement, at the Presidential Office, Jakarta, Tuesday (8/9) afternoon

President Joko Widodo accompanied by Vice President Jusuf Kalla, on Tuesday (8/9) afternoon, led a limited cabinet meeting that discussed Flight Information Region (FIR) i.e. the airspace used for air traffic.

Minister of Transportation Ignasius Jonan accompanied by Cabinet Secretary Pramono Anung and Commander of Indonesian National Defense Forces (TNI) Gen. Gatot Nurmantyo said that the meeting discussed FIR in A, B, and C blocks.

“It is called Upper Natuna, the border with Singapore and Malacca Strait Malaysia, and also the border with the states of Malaysia located at the Southern part of Kalimantan, such as Serawak, etc,” Jonan said at the Presidential Office, Jakarta, on Tuesday (8/9) afternoon.

According to the Minister, the President asks in 3-4 years we prepare better equipments and personnels so that we can manage our own airspace. Unlike now, we are assigned by Singapore to manage it.

“So, it is in Upper Natuna, at the border with Singapore and Malaysia. The preparation takes 3-4 years. We will also talk with Malaysia and Singapore. If we are ready, there will be transfer. Hopefully, it can run well,” Jonan affirmed.

Jonan added that from civil aviation’s view, the main issue of FIR is safety whereas Indonesia also manages other countries’ FIR.

“Christmas Island that belongs to Australia managed by Indonesia. Indonesia also manages the FIR of Timor Leste and Auckland Island. Auckland Island in Pasific belongs to the United States, but the FIR is managed by Indonesia through ATC Ujung Pandang,” Jonan said.

Also attending the meeting were Coordinating Minister of Maritime Affairs Rizal Ramli, Minister of State Secretary Pratikno, Cabinet Secretary Pramono Anung, Minister of Home Affairs Tjahjo Kumolo, Minister of Defense Ryamizard Ryacudu, Minister of Transportation Ignasius Jonan, Minister of Research and Technology and Higher Education M. Nasir, and Head of National Institute of Aeronautics and Space (LAPAN) Thomas Djamaludin. (Sy).

Latest News