President Jokowi to Visit Four Countries in Africa

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 20 Agustus 2023
Category: News
Read: 966 Views

President Jokowi departs from Kualanamu International Airport, North Sumatera to Africa, Sunday (08/20). (Photo by: BPMI of Presidential Secretariat)

President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo Sunday (08/20) kicked off working visit to four countries in Africa. This will be President Jokowi’s first presidential visit to that continent.

“We will visit four countries, such as Kenya, Tanzania, Mozambique, and South Africa, and this will be my first visit as the President to the Africa region” said President on his press statement before departing from Kualanamu International Airport, Deli Serdang regency, North Sumatera province.

President stated that Indonesia and Africa had a long historical relationship because Indonesia was a founder and host of the Asian-African Conference (KAA) in 1955. Beside that, Indonesia also played the important role as one of the founding countries of Non-Aligned Movement.

“Kenya and Tanzania had opened their embassies in Jakarta last year. This is a form of commitment from the two countries to continue to enhance cooperation with Indonesia” the President said.

According to President Jokowi, Mozambique is the first country in Africa which has Preferential Trade Agreement (PTA) with Indonesia. He also added that the visit to South Africa is also aimed to accept an invitation to attend the 2023 BRICS Summit.

For the record, President Jokowi and the entourage are scheduled to return to Indonesia on August 25th.

Also accompanying President Jokowi in the press conference were, among others, Cabinet Secretary Pramono Agung, Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs and Investment Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan, Minister of Energy and Mineral Resource Arifin Tasrif, and Governor of North Sumatera Edy Rahmayadi. (FID/UN) (SS/RAS)

Latest News