Two Cities Also To Be Prepared as New Capital City, Central Kalimantan Governor Says

By Office of Assistant to Deputy Cabinet Secretary for State Documents & Translation     Date 31 Juli 2017
Category: News
Read: 3.169 Views
Central Kalimantan Governor delivers his remarks before Members of the House of Representatives Commission II at the Office of the Governor of Central Kalimantan. (Photo: PR/Edi)

Central Kalimantan Governor delivers his remarks before Members of the House of Representatives Commission II at the Office of the Governor of Central Kalimantan. (Photo: PR/Edi)

Commission II of the House of Representatives (DPR) paid a Working Visit to Central Kalimantan Province from 29 July to 2 August 2017. One of the agenda is meeting with Governor of Central Kalimantan and the local Regional Heads, at the Office of the Governor of Central Kalimantan Province, Palangka Raya, Monday (31/7) morning.

In his speech, Governor of Central Kalimantan Province, Sugianto Sabran, said that Palangka Raya City used to be proposed as the capital city of the Republic of Indonesia. He added that Central Kalimantan has a total area of ??153,564.5 square kilometers with a population of 2,485,035 people and local cultural wisdom, namely the Huma Batang Philosophy. “Under Law No. 5 of 2012, Central Kalimantan consists of 1 City, 13 regencies, 136 sub-districts, 138 urban villages, and 1,434 villages,” Sugianto said.

In addition, the economic growth in Central Kalimantan in the first quarter of 2017, the Governor continued, was at 9.49 percent with inflation rate until June 2017 of 4.97 percent. While the Human Development Index has increased from 2016 by 68.53 percent to 69.13 percent with open unemployment rate in February 2016 of 3.13 percent and the GRDP per capita of 2016 amounting to Rp44,1 million.

Regarding the readiness of the capital city of the state, Central Kalimantan Governor stated his readiness if the laws and rules that support have been approved by the Central Government with the three proposals, among others, Palangka Raya City with an area of 119,736 hectares, Gunung Mas Regency 98,956 hectares, and Katingan Regency 81,308 hectares.

Chairman of Commission II of the DPR, Zainuddin Amali, said that one of the proposals to be the capital city is Central Kalimantan, in addition to East Kalimantan and South Kalimantan. He added that President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo’s plan needs to be supported and well prepared by the provincial government.

In the discussion, Member of Commission II of the DPR, Hetifah, asked how the readiness for the simultaneous regional head elections (pilkada), given there will be 11 out of 14 cities/regencies that will hold it. Meanwhile, Head of the Indonesian Ombudsman Amzulian Rifai asked about public service in Central Kalimantan Province.

Regarding the readiness of pilkada, Chairman of the Central Kalimantan Provincial Elections Commission (KPU) said that the budget is already available and has been approved approximately Rp254 billion, which is divided into two budgeting, namely, the 2017 Revised Provincial Budget and the 2018 Provincial Budget (APBD).

Meanwhile, Chairman of the Election Supervisory Agency (Bawaslu) of Central Kalimantan Province said that there is a compilation of election vulnerability index that is likely to occur so that it can be mapped from the start of the implementation stage, election participants to the nomination. “We also coordinate with the Military Resort Command (Danrem) and the Police to guard the elections,” Governor of Central Kalimantan Sugianto said.

In addition to the discussion and hearings, Commission II of DPR RI is slated to pay a field visit to directly review the developments in Central Kalimantan Province.

Members of Commission II of the DPR who partake in the event was Zainuddin Amali (Golkar Party) as Chairman of the Commission, Fandi Utomo (Democrat Party) as Vice Chairman of Commission II, Arif Wibowo (the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle – PDIP), Darmadi Durianto (PDIP), Jemmy Demianus Ijie (PDIP), Mahyudin (Golkar Party), Hetifah (Golkar Party), Marcus Nari (Golkar Party), Tabrani Maamun (Golkar Party), Libert Kristo Ibu (Democrat Party), Baidowi (the United Development Party – PPP), Muhammad Ali Umri (the National Democrat Party – Nasdem), and Rufinus Hotmaulana Hutahuruk (the People’s Conscience Party – Hanura), Chairman of the Indonesian Ombudsman Amzulian Rifai, Secretary of the Ministry of the Empowerment of State Apparatus and Bureaucratic Reform Dwi Wahyu Atmaji, Commissioner of Bawaslu Ahmad Bagdja, Assistant Deputy of Acceleration of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Industry of Cabinet Secretariat Abdul Muis, the KPU, and officials from the Ministry of Agrarian and Spatial Planning/the National Land Agency (BPN). (EN/ES) (MUR/YM/Naster).

Latest News